Sig P938 range report

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

flatwins

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'd like to start by saying that I am not a professional firearms journalist or competitive shooter but rather just a firearms enthusiast. I have no formal training in handguns and I'm sure many of you can shoot circles around me.

With that out of the way I'd like to provide a range report on the new Sig P938 compact 9mm. The goal for today was primarily to test the function of the gun with accuracy being secondary. After all, if the most accurate gun in the world won't cycle ammo, there's a bigger problem. There's been some reports on YouTube of the 938 having ejection issues as well as shooting low. Since most of us like 9mm handguns to be able to run inexpensive ammunition for range use, I decided to test various types of ammo.

i655.photobucket.com_albums_uu277_flatwins_Shooting_IMG_0271.jpg

i655.photobucket.com_albums_uu277_flatwins_Shooting_IMG_0272.jpg

The first test was basic ammo cycling at 8" steel knockdown targets at around 40 feet. I had about a 30% success rate knocking the targets down and if anything, I was shooting high rather than low as others have reported.

I then went to the 5 yard pistol targets and ran a variety of ammo. By the time I got there I had expended some of the partial boxes so I don't have targets pictured for all the ammo types I tested. In testing the ammo at 5 yards, I didn't spend much time aiming but rather just tried to get rounds on the target. All the targets other than the Federal had 12 rounds (2 mags) fired at them.

i655.photobucket.com_albums_uu277_flatwins_Shooting_IMG_0273.jpg

i655.photobucket.com_albums_uu277_flatwins_Shooting_IMG_0274.jpg

i655.photobucket.com_albums_uu277_flatwins_Shooting_IMG_0275.jpg

i655.photobucket.com_albums_uu277_flatwins_Shooting_IMG_0276.jpg

i655.photobucket.com_albums_uu277_flatwins_Shooting_IMG_0277.jpg