Upcoming Duracoat Job. Need Advice/Help

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maverick21

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm reposting this from Gen Disc. Thought I might get more feedback here. Sorry if I pushed any buttons.

I have an old shotgun that I'm looking to cut down to 18" and duracoat since the finish is completely gone. I was looking at duracoats options and really liked some of the templates they have but noticed the price is worth more than the gun. Any advice from the more artistically inclined out there?

I was wanting to do something wild (maybe a digital cammo or tiger stripes!). Why? Because I can. Didn't know if anyone out there had a template that I could borrow or some advice/assistance they could lend my way.

Any input is appreciated. Brands, where to buy, application procedure... I'm a noob to coating so just spill it

strawdog

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Ive always been able to make good templetes with good quality masking tape like that is used in custom auto painting. if you go slow and let each coat dry and cure properly it comes out pretty good. here is a Remington 870 i did for someone and the AK i did freehand. If you can a light media blasting really helps hold the paint and make sure to spray a good degreaser prior to laying down paint. I normally work in layers; putting one color down a templete on top of that another color a templete and so on.

ai11.photobucket.com_albums_a156_strawdog1282_IMGP0522.jpg

ai11.photobucket.com_albums_a156_strawdog1282_IMGP0521.jpg

ai11.photobucket.com_albums_a156_strawdog1282_shotgun01.jpg

Maverick21

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
What's the best way to prep the parts? I don't have a sand blaster available to me so thats not an option. Just clean well and maybe some steel wool?

mmchambers06

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score