Buying your first house?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tcox

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
Okay here's the situation:

In approximately 2 1/2 years i'm going to have to find my first home. (and know little about it) I'm starting to brainstorm now so that I can figure out how the heck I can afford it. After patrol school (4month long academy for OHP) I will be making approximately 3000 a month, but because of the academy I will have no time to house hunt. As of now i'm working minimum wage part time and I am a full time student. Needless to say i'm not made of money. I will either be married or be getting married shortly after, however she may or may not be done with school yet so lets do math for just my salary.

I know take a loan and make payments but the majority of you have either done this or know alot more about this. Basically i'm asking for some fatherly (or motherly if your are BB) advice on how this will or should happen. Maybe so Do's or Do Not's?

Thanks OSA

nobuttbrian

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
i wouldn't worry just yet.start saving $100 a month and use that towards your down payment.IF you go to the OHP acadamy and graduate then they will tell you where you're going to live then figure where to buy a house.

zandroes

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm about to buy my first too. I went to the bank and filled out loan papers to figure out what I can afford.. It was very helpful and now have green light to seriously look..

landman873

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score