.30-06 varmint loads

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Commander Keen

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to the realoading business, and have concentrated mainly on building a good deer load.
Lately though, I've given some thought to trying to load up a very light-weight bullet for use as a varmint load. Does anyone have any experience or reccomendations for this, as far as bullets/powders go?

Ksmirk

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
What would you be considering varmints? I know in my 308 I found that the bullets I would use for hunting worked well or should I say didn't scatter a yote over half the county. I would say that a bullet in the 150-165 grain range would be ok but I would not want to take an 06 to a p-dog town. Later,

Kirk

Shriner

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
any 110 gr over 48gr of 760 =3000+/-fps will drop jackrabbits and other small game. check your reload books for loads to try,I check about 4 books for loads and start at the load that matchs in most of the books.
125,130gr will also work for smaller targets than deer.

criticalbass

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Most 30-06 barrels have a 1 in 10 twist. This will spin light bullets, especially cheap ones, so fast they become unstable unless you load them really light to keep the speed down. I think I would make my lightest loads in the 140-150 grain range.

If you really want to get into varmint shooting, pick up a 22-250 or something similar. Look at Savages. 30-06 will do lots of stuff, but it's still a fairly heavy caliber. CB

_CY_

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
use a different round like 22-250 for varmints

the super versatile .270 win can be loaded for varmint and deer