Battery Options for Game Cameras

retrieverman

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Joined
Aug 13, 2012
Messages
8,694
Reaction score
28,844
Location
Texas
What’s everyone using?

I tried an external battery/solar panel set up that Cabelas used to sell, and it worked OK but not great. I went back to Energizer lithium AA’s, and in the 4g Spartans, I’m getting 5000+/- pictures from a set (12 batteries) which is impressive since the older 2g and 3g cameras wouldn’t send 1000 without crapping out.
With the current cost of lithium AA’s, I’m going to start using external batteries and solar panels on all my cell cams. I’ve been testing it on one camera, and it’s worked flawlessly for almost a year. I just ordered two more batteries to set up 2 more of my cameras.

I will continue to use lithium AA’s in my non cell cams.

This wouldn’t be as big of an issue if I could just run out and check my cameras after work if there is a problem, but I’m 500 miles away and need something that‘s going to work.
So far, this is working.
697AEBC0-CB51-415C-9CCA-2A9ECC227A01.jpeg
 

dennishoddy

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
78,654
Reaction score
44,895
Location
Ponca City Ok
I'm using Revel X cell cams. As reported in another thread, both are on solar panels made and sold by Revel X. They both show 100 % battery level but one quit sending pics the other day. Went over today and checked the setup noting that when the solar panel was plugged in, it was 100% but when removing the plug, battery life went to zero and the camera shut off.
The camera is seeing the solar panel but not recharging the rechargeable batteries even though the solar panel has it's own internal batteries.
The other camera works fine. 100% plugged in or not plugged in to the solar panel. Working as designed.
I'll call tech support next week to see if there is an issue they can resolve. I've compared settings and they are identical.
 

Bocephus123

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Joined
Nov 25, 2020
Messages
3,897
Reaction score
3,281
Location
Tulsa
I'm using Revel X cell cams. As reported in another thread, both are on solar panels made and sold by Revel X. They both show 100 % battery level but one quit sending pics the other day. Went over today and checked the setup noting that when the solar panel was plugged in, it was 100% but when removing the plug, battery life went to zero and the camera shut off.
The camera is seeing the solar panel but not recharging the rechargeable batteries even though the solar panel has it's own internal batteries.
The other camera works fine. 100% plugged in or not plugged in to the solar panel. Working as designed.
I'll call tech support next week to see if there is an issue they can resolve. I've compared settings and they are identical.
Dead cell in battery?
 

dennishoddy

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
78,654
Reaction score
44,895
Location
Ponca City Ok
Dead cell in battery?
I'm using rechargables in the camera with the solar panel having it's own bank of batteries. They are new and show fully charged in the charger indicator and via a Fluke Multimeter.
I put in a completely new set of batteries today. We will see how that goes.
 

retrieverman

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Joined
Aug 13, 2012
Messages
8,694
Reaction score
28,844
Location
Texas
I'm using Revel X cell cams. As reported in another thread, both are on solar panels made and sold by Revel X. They both show 100 % battery level but one quit sending pics the other day. Went over today and checked the setup noting that when the solar panel was plugged in, it was 100% but when removing the plug, battery life went to zero and the camera shut off.
The camera is seeing the solar panel but not recharging the rechargeable batteries even though the solar panel has it's own internal batteries.
The other camera works fine. 100% plugged in or not plugged in to the solar panel. Working as designed.
I'll call tech support next week to see if there is an issue they can resolve. I've compared settings and they are identical.
This is the kind of stuff that burns my butt and that I can’t afford to have happen. I was told by a Spartan customer service rep that my set up wouldn’t work and would overcharge the battery thus burn up the camera, but she was trying to get me to buy their external battery/solar panel set up. I may be speaking too soon and have this camera fry tomorrow, but it’s sent thousands of pictures since November with no issue.
 

retrieverman

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Joined
Aug 13, 2012
Messages
8,694
Reaction score
28,844
Location
Texas
I'm using rechargables in the camera with the solar panel having it's own bank of batteries. They are new and show fully charged in the charger indicator and via a Fluke Multimeter.
I put in a completely new set of batteries today. We will see how that goes.
Dennis, I would suggest trying a new cable from the solar panel to the camera. That was the weak link in the old Cabelas set up I used to use.
 

dennishoddy

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
78,654
Reaction score
44,895
Location
Ponca City Ok
This is the kind of stuff that burns my butt and that I can’t afford to have happen. I was told by a Spartan customer service rep that my set up wouldn’t work and would overcharge the battery thus burn up the camera, but she was trying to get me to buy their external battery/solar panel set up. I may be speaking too soon and have this camera fry tomorrow, but it’s sent thousands of pictures since November with no issue.
What is kinda weird is that I used this same camera all summer with the same solar panel at home to monitor our access road.
The tree it was in leafed out leaving the solar panel pretty much in the shade. Watched the battery level drop down to 1% but it kept sending pics of deer crossing the yard at night for over a month. Now it's showing 100% and quit sending pics because the cam batteries didn't get charged.
The other cam maintained 100% all summer.
Maybe I need to switch solar panels and see if the problem moves. If so, I have the culprit identified.
Edit: appears Retrieverman and I are on the same track.
 

Latest posts

Top Bottom