Duck/Deer hunting, and I need friends :)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WacosSon

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Well if the subject line didn't make me sound pathetic....:thumbup3:

First off, I'm new to Oklahoma. Transferred here from California for work and already would never go back. Grew up in Texas and still regret the move to CA. Didn't have much of a hunting family, so for the last 10 years I've had to self-teach myself everything. Been mostly into upland/waterfowling and mulies - the only things to really hunt in CA. Been working for the Outdoor Channel for a while, so at least I'm immersed in the business...

Now living in the Tulsa area and looking for 3 things -

1. Without giving away "secrets," can anyone recommend from personal experience (I can google for facts) some good public lakes/locations for water fowling up here?

2. Again, without secrets, anyone know some good public land within an hour or so drive of Tulsa that'll produce some deer? (Again, I can google, but personal knowledge is better)

3. Don't really see a whole lot of personal networking going on here, but if there's anyone in the Tulsa area who would like to get together to hunt, hit the range, or shoot the $&^% over a few beers, please hit me up. I'm no beginner, just not a pro.

I'm a pretty decent shotgunner, not too shabby with a rifle, and rusty as all hell with a bow. OK's got a much shorter rifle season that CA, so I'm gonna have to invest in a new bow and start practicing again - been way too long.

So yes, this is my desperate plea for information and friends. Some guidance for a hunter who is currently way out of his element would be appreciated. Thanks!

dennishoddy

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Well, at least let me start out with some usable info.