For all of you welders out there - a public service video

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PanhandleGlocker

Sharpshooter
Special Hen Banned
Reaction score
Im a welder and I do line repairs on Natural Gas pipelines. The other day we were cutting 40’ of 18” pipe out and I was hand torching some straps out of the pipe after we already cut a bevel with our beveling machine so the pipe would pop out easier because the fire inside makes the pipe grow basically.. anyways… as I was hand torching I felt a pretty good piece of dirt hit me in the back and I asked the welder assisting me if the wall behind me was falling in and he said, “no… well… GET OUT OF THE WAY!”

I throw my torch down and run up out of the trench and sure enough… it caves in right where I was.

Scarier than the pipe burping in my opinion.

Profreedomokie

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
We had an incident in the refinery years ago with the cleaning solvent used to clean metal causing Phosgene gas when it was welded. One hazard he didn't cover and maybe because it is a long-term hazard is hexavanive chrome. Welding stainless steel and some high nickel steels cause it and long-term exposure will kill you. The stuff is so toxic that our welders used to wear respirators or supplied air and change coveralls after the work was done. The dirty coveralls were kept separate from and washed separately from other dirty work clothes.

PanhandleGlocker

Sharpshooter
Special Hen Banned
Reaction score