How often do you "freshen" your carry ammo?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OathTree_DFT

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
I cycle through my EDC ammo every year. If it's been sitting in the magazine for too long, constant chambering can damage the lead round over time. Plus it's always a good idea to shoot a magazine or two of your carry ammo every now and then - different mechanics and recoil than standard FMJ/range ammo.

druryj

In Remembrance / Dec 27 2021
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I guess I'll do my little write up again. I've been working ammunition and explosives for over 20+ years, as logistic's, handler, and EOD, so I know a little bit about it. Now bear with me on this, military ammo is bought by the lowest bidder, and is required to work regardless of the environmental conditions or age. Most military ammo sits in the open or lightly covered, sometimes it gets put into a earth covered bunker. But for the most part its stored in what ever is available, and may sit for several decades before its used. SO your carry ammo, or practice ammo is kept in (for the most part) a controlled environment, which means its going to last a hell of a lot longer than most of the militarys stored ammo(Which means a very, very long time!!!!!). The vertigris that can build up on your carry ammo can be wiped off with a damp cloth. I have fired ammunition older than WWII, and it has functioned just like the day it was made. Trading out carry ammo every year or every two years is nothing more than a waste of money. Ammunition isn't like food or other items that have an use before date. It will last probably longer than you'll live.