I know I'm a little late, but Happy Veterans Day

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dukester

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
http://unsolicitedbiasedopinion.blogspot.com/2012/11/happy-veterans-day.html

Every Veteran's Day, and this one is no exception, I have people come up to me and thank me for serving and as often as not they shake my hand when they do it. I imagine they do this because I usually wear a cap that says US ARMY on it. I don't wear it because I want people to know I'm a veteran, but to support our troops. Also, I just think the Army kicks ass and I want everybody to know it.

Being thanked for my service actually makes me a bit uncomfortable, to tell you the truth. This is because even though I did serve and am a veteran on paper, thanks to timing I was never deployed and was therefore asked to sacrifice nothing but a little time and effort. Quite frankly, I didn't do anything to be thanked for. In fact I think it's fair to say that I got the better end of the deal by far.

I experienced things that built my character and my confidence in ways that rarely happen outside of the military. I was also given an all expense trip to Germany and surrounding areas where I saw and experienced things that I will never forget. Along the way I got to play with some of the cool toys that the Army has, such as machine guns, grenade launchers and the trusty M-16, not to mention artillery. And after all that was done I got a little money for school that helped me have a career which allows me to provide for my family.