Interesting run-in with Tulsa Cty Sheriff's officer--need input

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tak1973

Marksman
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
A little background: I moved here from TX back in summer of 2009. Transferred my TX CCL from in-state to a non-resident. I took the OK CC class when we moved, but just haven't taken the time to get the license yet. my TX non-resident CCL is good thru 2/2012.

I was pulled over today in Owasso for allegedly driving 46 in a 40 MPH zone. Had my licenses and insurance out and ready. Informed him of my weapon and he went back to his car. A few minutes later he calls me back to his car and tells me that I was required to have an OK CCL if I am a resident of OK. He said my TX license (with OK address on it) was no longer valid in OK. I told him I respectfully disagree, and OK honors Texas' non-resident license the same as it would a non-res from Utah, Florida, etc. He stated that I MUST have an OK license to carry in OK if I am a resident.

He continued to lecture me about how he was an LEO and knew all the laws. I decided not to press the matter (since he wasn't offering to arrest me) and the conversation moved on to other things. He gave me a warning and a parting word of advice that he didn't really care if I carried or not, since I was 'obviously' one of the 'good guys'.

Was he correct about the licensing requirements? When I moved here, I took the class to get myself up to speed on OK's laws. Although the class was not very good; I feel I have a good understanding of the laws. If he is wrong, I am considering informing his superior. If he chooses to pursue an incorrect understanding of the law, he could put his dept in considerable legal trouble.

Opinions?

bulbboy

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I don't know the law off hand - but if you are right you might print something out to keep with you to kindly show them.