IT consult

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sh00ter

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
If the server hosted PII or other protected info, I'd just wipe the drives with a boot disc/USB as already mentioned, then smash them with a sledge hammer. You could probably sell the rest of it here in the classifieds or on FB marketplace for the right price (no idea what it would be).

If the server didn't host anything as you said had only 12hrs of use, then you could wipe the drives and donate or sell...someone will probably run Linux on it anyway.

rlongnt

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I've been a Windows Server Admin for 20+ years. I would remove the hard drive and use a hammer/punch to destroy the platters. If it's SSD remove the board and microwave the sucker for 20 seconds. Throw the rest in the can. Every company I've ever worked for "you would recognize them all" paid to have them destroyed not donated. After we wiped them with multiple passes to DOD standards.

BobbyV

Are you serious?
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I've been a Windows Server Admin for 20+ years. I would remove the hard drive and use a hammer/punch to destroy the platters. If it's SSD remove the board and microwave the sucker for 20 seconds. Throw the rest in the can. Every company I've ever worked for "you would recognize them all" paid to have them destroyed not donated. After we wiped them with multiple passes to DOD standards.
We used to have fun taking drives apart and playing around with the magnets. :blush:

Rez Exelon

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score