Pocket .22s....

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JD8

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Friend of mine's mother has Lupus along with several other health issues and is recoil sensitive. She however is actually interested in carrying. Said friend wants to get her a .22 pocket pistol like a PT-22 or one of the Berettas. I've already explained the difference between killing somone and stopping somone and don't suggest the J-frame route because I've already gone there. I have no experience with these guns..... so does anyone have any experience with the Beretta tomcats or the Taurus? Everything I see online whether youtube seems to show that they are hit and miss.... with some big misses. Not encouraging.

Stingray

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I've always thought the NAA pocket pistols were cool. They make a wildcat caliber called 25 NAA. It is essentially a 32 acp necked down to a 25 caliber. A little more punch than a 22 with similar recoil, and the reliability of a centerfire. Check it out: http://www.naaminis.com/25naa.html

I don't own one of these but it seems to me that .25 NAA ammo would be a little difficult to source, or am I off base here?

-S

bratch

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
and don't suggest the J-frame route because I've already gone there.

I'm assuming you mean a Jframe in 38; if you mean all Jframes then disregard the rest of my post.

What about a Smith 317 Jframe in 22lr? You could clean the trigger up a little and put a set of Crimson Trace grips on it and have a nice little carry gun. The 317 will have a higher capacity than the others as well.

A revolver would be my pick for carry in a 22lr incase one of your rounds doesn't ignite; no tap, rack just pull the trigger again.

http://www.smith-wesson.com/webapp/...angId=-1&parent_category_rn=15704&isFirearm=Y

ttown

Sharpshooter