Reliability and build help for 9mm AR15

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JesseR

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Ok... so seeing as the posts I've found are a year old, I can only hope that more "bugs" have been worked out. Looks like I'll go with the DPMS LPK, Spikes Mag Block, Spikes Buffer/Spring and then a Model 1 upper/bolt

Seems like a nice little fun plinker for me. Too bad I can't find an HK-94 style stock to go on it. I'll most likely go with and Ace stock for the looks.

If anyone has extra comments please post them. I'll start posting pics as soon as I can get the parts together!

J

Spooln-Rex

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
well im just going off what i know about using a sbr'ed platform for the 5.56 cartridge. the shorter you go with that round the harder it is on the bolt carrier and what not given the shorter gas system and pressures involved. Now im by no means an expert so take this with a grain of salt.

someone correct me if im wrong by all means but yea i see the point though with the 9mm as it probably wont matter either way. but build it the way you want because in the end its your rifle not someone elses till you decide to sell it.

jcbarlow

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
well im just going off what i know about using a sbr'ed platform for the 5.56 cartridge. the shorter you go with that round the harder it is on the bolt carrier and what not given the shorter gas system and pressures involved. Now im by no means an expert so take this with a grain of salt.

someone correct me if im wrong by all means but yea i see the point though with the 9mm as it probably wont matter either way. but build it the way you want because in the end its your rifle not someone elses till you decide to sell it.