took a kid deer hunting

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

owu1bag5

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
My brother in law is 12 years old and he has been wanting me to take him hunting for the past few years. I told him and his parents that as soon as he got his hunters safety course done then I would be glad to take him. Well he finally got his safety course taken this summer and was ready to get out and hunt.

We made plans to go on Wednesday before thanksgiving because he would be out of school and I was going to be off work. I work in the oil field and those of you who know the oil field know that plans get made and cancelled because things never quite go right. I was supposed to be home early Tuesday night to end my days on, but of course the job didn't quite go right so we had to stay on location later than planned. I ended up getting to head home at about 1 A.M. I pulled into the yard at just after 3 A.M. I was completely worn out and wasn't thinking about getting out in the deer woods that morning, I had been up for over 24 hours and I just wanted to sleep. I was supposed to go pick up my BIL
at around 3:30 from his house. I didn't have any service out on location so I couldn't call and let him know we wouldn't be going that morning.