What did your folks do for work, from early to late?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OKRuss

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Interesting thread!

Dad was an ironworker by trade. Worked for Allied Steel in OKC hanging red iron, welding, cutting, etc... Started his own non-union steel construction company in OKC in 1982. Sold it in early 2000's. Health issues from being inactive. Lung replaced at 72. Passed away Oct 2020 at 78. This is why we moved from Colorado Springs to Tuttle back in 2017 to help Mom out and spend as much time as possible with Dad. Miss him.

Mom was a stay at home wife when we were young. She worked part time at the church doing administrative stuff. When me and brother got older, she took a job with a local law firm to do title research out at FAA for airplanes being bought/sold. I'm guessing she worked there close to 20 years. Mom turned 80 last year and doing pretty good health wise. Lives by herself on 10 acres with a big house. Won't be long before this is too much and we'll look for a place where me, wife and her can live. Dad passed away in the house so I just can't live there(Mom offered us up the master suite and she'd stay in the spare bedroom). Too many emotions.

icarus_85

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
Mom was the oldest and had only one brother. She grew up working in my grandparent's little neighborhood grocery store. She graduated HS in 1952, then went to a small college not far from her home. During her sophomore year in college, she married my dad who had returned from the Korean War and started college. Dad was 3 years older than my mom. Mom finished her second year and began having children. Later when my brothers and I were old enough, she worked as a secretary and social worker for Oklahoma DHS. My mother got MS in her early 40's and pass at 55 years old in 1988.