What have you ALWAYS wanted to do for work, but now do something else?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cooljeff

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I was doing some studying tonight for my Special Ed certification exam, and it got me thinking about how much my life has really changed over the years. In regards to where I always thought I would be career wise; I am now on the complete opposite end of the spectrum from my original dreams!

I started going back to school in 2006 in the field of Criminal Justice Administration, I always dreamed of what I could do, and helping people in the justice field. I never wanted anything else since I was probably 8 years old. In 2010 I graduated with a B.S. in Criminal Justice Administration. before I graduated I had the opportunity to work for Oklahoma County Sherrifs Office as a Detention Officer. I did that for a year and then I got a job at Cleveland county sheriffs office as a Detention Deputy. The thing both of these jobs had in common is that I DESPISED them both from day one!

All of this was the start to what I refer to as my 40 years of wandering the desert, I left the sheriffs office and vowed I would never work any kind of law enforcement again. I jumped from job to job for a couple years and began to hit some real lows. I began to doubt any abilities I thought I had, any skills I felt I learned and then I began to even kick myself for the debt I got myself in with 4 years of student loans. I just felt like life had peaked and this was as good as it was going to ever be for me.