Boar/Hog hunting questions

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bigfug

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Total noob to it, but me and a friedn want to go. Father passed away when I was young, before he could pass on the knowledge and skillls needed to hunt, thankfully, on the gun part I was covered. So, what caliber/equipment will I need? Any tactics or need to know info? Where to go? I have access to land in Davis, and SE Oklahoma, around Nashoba/Clayton.

leadfinger

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Total noob to it, but me and a friedn want to go. Father passed away when I was young, before he could pass on the knowledge and skillls needed to hunt, thankfully, on the gun part I was covered. So, what caliber/equipment will I need? Any tactics or need to know info? Where to go? I have access to land in Davis, and SE Oklahoma, around Nashoba/Clayton.

I started hog hunting last year, but got serious about it this year. I only hunt them on public land. I shot 4 today. I use different tactics based on terrain, time of year, pressure and food/water source. Today I looked for FRESH sign (rooting, droppings, etc). I determined the direction of travel (ALWAYS use the wind to your favor). I stalked until I was on them, and then took that sure shot. They will scatter, but wait and be patient, they will regroup. I continued stalking until I was on them again….repeat. I stalked this group today for 1-1/2 miles, and got on them 4 times. 5 shots/4 kills. The original group had 8 hogs, all black, with the largest boar shot weighing about 175lbs with 2" tusks. When I quit for the day, the group was cut in half. On the long walk back to the vehicle, I crossed a creek and there was a well eaten deer carcass. To my surprise, it had a real nice 9 point rack. I had to remove the skull and drag it home too.