Cable installers, or just smart people???

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tumbler

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm wanting to mount a vhf/uhf antenna in my attic and my house already has cable outlets in all 3 bedrooms and the living room. I'd like to be able to add the antenna into the same cables that are already run through the house, without compromising the integrity of being able to add a cable television service at a future date. I went up into the attic today and it seems that the one RG6 coax from outside is all the way under my attic floor as shown below

[Broken External Image]

It appears to go into a hole where I'm assuming it's run into a 4-way splitter as the 4 RG6 coax cables are coming out of that same hole and running to their respective areas of the house.

[Broken External Image]

I have absolutely NO idea what I'm doing. I have zero experience with anything electrical. Is it possible to hook the antenna into the main cable that runs to the splitter so the antenna provides reception to every outlet in the house? Will that have any effect on starting cable service in the future?

*on a side note... should I be worried about the cut blue wire showing in the second picture? I'm the first owner of this house and I sure as hell didn't cut it.

gfercaks33

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
The cut wire is cat5 it's used for networking, they could have used it as a pull wire but I see abandoned wire like that daily at work.

SoonerP226

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Yeah, the cut wire appears to be Cat5 or Cat6 data/telecom wire; it's no big deal (other than possibly leaving you with a data/phone outlet that won't work).