CC with LCP?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Milezc9

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Hey guys I'm new to the CC scene but not to guns. I finished up my class a few weeks ago and decided to pick up the Ruger LCP. I've been looking at holsters forever online reading reviews and a few in stores. Though I've never carried I'm thinking I want to try and pocket carry with the LCP. Any suggestions? I've checked out DeSantis Nemesis or Trickster and heard good things about the Nemesis. I'm somewhat lenient on sitting on the gun if I carry in by back pocket but I'm willing to give it a go. Does anyone else back pocket carry? Any problems from it?

Quick_Draw_McGraw

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Most of your pocket holsters ( Nemesis for example ) are designed for front pocket carry. So when looking at pocket holsters keep that in mind.

They have the beveled edge on the front of the holster to create a more natural line in your pocket to add comfort and to keep it from printing.

I don't own an LCP, but I do pocket carry a .38 sometimes. But a lot of the principles are the same.

Some things to think about...

Front pocket carry with your dominant hand puts your hand in a natural position to draw. Back pocket carry will require you to rotate your wrist to draw.

Back pockets are almost always tighter then front pockets. So its going to make it a little bit more complicated to reach it and safely draw your pistol from the holster.

You should also consider that it will be a lot more difficult to reholster your gun in a rear pocket. Being able to safely and quickly reholster is an often forgotten requirement for a holster. You don't want a holster solution that will require you to remove the holster for reholstering or worse, require you to fumble around with your gun.