help pick my first AR

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

h8ns8n

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
ok I am thinking about getting my first and am leaning toward the DPMS sportical or a Doublestar. I can get either for under $650 and was wanting opinions on both or other suggestions. Thanks

Ignored Member

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
of those 2 i would probably go with neither..... save a little more money and get one that will be of better quality. i have a bushmaster that has been 100% reliable and crazy accurate for the past 6 years since i bought it new. i've also had really good luck with rock river arms. you'll be happier with a quality piece.

Larry Morgan

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm not a fan of the DPMS sportcals. Prices are coming down on AR stuff right now. If you are going to get DPMS, i'd at least get the model just about the sportcal. I'm not sure how I feel about the doublestar stuff either.

If you're willing to wait a week or two, spike's tactical is having a good sale on complete lowers. Then you can talk to many of the local guys on here for a good deal on an upper (MAS Gunworks, Vital Arms, etc). I just built an AR with a spike's complete lower, and an armalite upper from Vital Arms. Cost me 730 less shipping for an AR with pretty quality parts.

Bottom line is that I'd spend a bit more money and get a decent quality AR. They can be had now for pretty cheap, either in parts or complete.

gillman7

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score