Hooking Up Three Phase Genie To 220V Well

John6185

Sharpshooter
Special Hen Supporter
Joined
Oct 27, 2012
Messages
6,302
Reaction score
4,820
Location
OKC
You sure the generator is three phase? It would be unusual to find one that size for residential use. But, you could power the pump just fine with a three phase generator.
Well, I could be wrong, the pump has two hots and a neutral plus ground if I’m not mistaken. I’ll try and find a photo of the generator to post.
 

dennishoddy

Sharpshooter
Special Hen Supporter
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
73,852
Reaction score
33,832
Location
Ponca City Ok
Well, I could be wrong, the pump has two hots and a neutral plus ground if I’m not mistaken. I’ll try and find a photo of the generator to post.
That's a 4 wire pump that is single phase as it's commonly called. Your generator will have a 220v outlet most likely. Is this for a temporary emergency hook up during a power failure or a permanent hookup to the home that includes the water well?
Edit: a three phase pump would have three hots and a ground.
 

Fredkrueger100

Come to Freddy!!
Special Hen Supporter
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
6,520
Reaction score
3,673
Location
Shawnee, OK
I have a champion 9,200 running watts generator and an interlock on my breaker. I can run my whole house minus the heater when I need to. That sucker is amazing. It was $999 at Lowe’s and $200 to have the switch installed. And I have a gen tent that I put on the generator when it rains. I don’t have a covered area to put it under. I could buy a longer cord then I could put it on the back porch. That is the route I would go.
 
Last edited:

John6185

Sharpshooter
Special Hen Supporter
Joined
Oct 27, 2012
Messages
6,302
Reaction score
4,820
Location
OKC
I am on the road now and can’t post a photo of the generator but what I’m trying to do is buy the material I will be needing to have an electrician do the dirty work. Does that sound feasible? Sometimes they won’t do the work unless “they” supply all the parts.
 

John6185

Sharpshooter
Special Hen Supporter
Joined
Oct 27, 2012
Messages
6,302
Reaction score
4,820
Location
OKC
I have a champion 9,200 running watts generator and a transfer switch on my breaker. I can run my whole house minus the heater when I need to. That sucker is amazing. It was $999 at Lowe’s and $200 to have the switch installed. And I have a gen tent that I put on the generator when it rains. I don’t have a covered area to put it under. I could buy a longer cord then I could put it on the back porch. That is the route I would go.[/QUOTE
$200.00 isn’t that bad of a price to pay an electrician
 

dennishoddy

Sharpshooter
Special Hen Supporter
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
73,852
Reaction score
33,832
Location
Ponca City Ok
I am on the road now and can’t post a photo of the generator but what I’m trying to do is buy the material I will be needing to have an electrician do the dirty work. Does that sound feasible? Sometimes they won’t do the work unless “they” supply all the parts.
Like most stores that supply to contractors/mechanics they have pricing that applies to them and different prices that apply to the general public.
If you buy the wrong stuff, most electrical stuff isn't returnable. Let your electrician do the job right the first time with products they are familiar with.
 

tyromeo55

Sharpshooter
Special Hen Supporter
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
4,746
Reaction score
1,288
Location
Tulsa
The capacitor converters are fairly cheap. A 14" saw would be awesome on 6X6 and so on.

Just a note....... (if it even makes any sense)
Static converters do work but they are not perfect by a long shot. You only get 2/3 the rated HP and the motor will run hot even at that. You also will need a start cap momentarily in the circuit to get the thing running Remember single phase is 240V center tapped to get the neutral and 120V across either winding to neutral. That makes the waveform 180 deg out of phase NOT the 120 deg a 3 phase motor is looking for. The manufactured leg out of the caps will float all over the place as load goes up and down. For most applications a rotary converter or VFD will be a better choice.
 
Top Bottom