Lever Action Advice

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Revolvers4Life

S&W Collector
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I have a lot of experience surrounding handguns (revolvers and semi-autos) and a good bit surrounding rifles with bolt or semi-auto actions, but I have no experience when it comes to lever actions. I have always wanted one, just never got around to picking one up, mostly due to a lack of knowledge around them.

I have gone through the forums and done some research online, but wanted to see everyone's thoughts here. I want something nice that will last and be reliable, can either be a modern version or an older model, mainly just don't want some discount brand or model with issues. Not looking for anything big bore like 45-70, ideally would stay in the 30 caliber range like a 38 or 30-30, but I'll listen to whatever experience you all have. Anyone have suggestions on what to start looking at? Thanks

OK Corgi Rancher

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
What will you use if for mainly? Just fun/plinking? I'd get a pistol caliber like a .38/.357. Or even a .22 or .22 Mag. It'll be a lot cheaper to shoot than a rifle caliber like .30-30.

It'll also depend on your budget. The older Marlins and Winchesters are gonna cost you a lot more than a newer gun. They'll also cost you a lot more than something like a Rossi M92.

For just an all around fun rifle, an M92 in .38/.357 would be a good place to start if a .22 isn't what you want.

OK Corgi Rancher

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score