Thinking about quitting the dept.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

springfieldxd23

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
I am a volunteer firefighter (Equipment Operator). I've been in the fire service for about 13 years and I love it so much but for about the last 2 years I've been put in the position of an officer (managing a shift and all the other duties that follow) and with no promotion. I have asked several times why I've haven't been promoted and I get the answer "I'm trying to set new standards and you are the lucky one for me to start with. You need to get your firefighter 2, Fire Officer, and so on" but I don't feel it's the truth. Every time I get close to what he wants he adds more to it. I feel the chief doesn't feel confident enough to promote me yet I have the same duties as the other officers. Now when we have our monthly meetings the paid guys gripe and complain about how they are getting screwed and how they aren't treated right. Then we have other volunteers that gripe and complain about others and it has nothing to do with them. I know this is the same everywhere you go but It's get old and I need to vent. I'm thinking about quitting cause it not worth the stress of being on call every third day, training every Tuesday night, and dealing with everyone elses crap. It's just not fun anymore. That's the whole reason I joined 13 years ago.:soapbox:

Last edited:

beast1989

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Listen you have volunteered enough for a life time if its not fun then move on to something more enjoyable. Life is too short to not do what you enjoy. 13 years of serving the state of oklahoma is good enough in my book. And i appreciate all you done for us.

gmar

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score