Time to compete?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blitzkrieg

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
So here I am again winding down another august day, speakin of august days, it was so hot the other day, I saw a squirell pickin up acorns...and he was wearing potholders!! So, regardless, as my body is tired and my mind starts wondering.

I've been shooting now for about 27 years. Some of it in the civilian world, most of it in the military. I love it. Very few things in my life bring me as much joy as picking up a firearm and putting rounds down range.

I shoot anytime I can, and any how I can. Weither it's knockin down torso targets at 300 meters with a M4, or shooting spinners in my backyard with my buckmark, or glock's, or one of my fav's an old BSA .22 target.

However, I shoot and I shoot. And I'd rather be shootin under horrible conditions or not shootin in the best conditions. It's fun, but like anything, to include my marriage, something gotta be done to put the spark back in it.

Sometimes I buy a new gun. New guns always put the spark back in shooting, and being a FFL holder, this is easier for me than some. Sometimes I change my targets. Sometimes I shoot with a buddy, well, you all get the idea.

Something to "keep the spark in it" that I have been pondering lately is maybe trying to compete somhow. Now, I'm first one to admit, I'm no marksman. I have managed to qualify with just about every personally fired weapon in the military, but that alone doesn't make a man a great shot, and like I said, "great" shot for me would be an exaturation.

So in other words, I'm not very good. I own quite a few firearms, but next to that old BSA target .22 rifle, nothing I own would be considered a "competition" gun by any means.