9 or 40

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

57 Nomad

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
I am new to firearms and I would like to know if I should start out with a 9MM or learn with a 40. Any suggestions? I will be taking instructions and learning how to handle and shoot but trying to decide on caliber.

prophet

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Find a gun that is comfortable in your hands first, then choose what caliber you want, a 9mm and a 40 do not have that big of a difference in felt recoil. The 9mm is easy to find and cheaper than the 40.

ExtremistPullup

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I am new to firearms and I would like to know if I should start out with a 9MM or learn with a 40. Any suggestions? I will be taking instructions and learning how to handle and shoot but trying to decide on caliber.

with a Glock 23/22 you can shoot 3 calibers with a drop in Lone Wolf barrel.

9mm would be cheaper to shoot.

Glocktogo

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
9mm hands down. You can shoot almost 50% more for the same cost. With less recoil, you're more likely to improve your proficiency while developing fewer bad habits.

mhphoto

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Find a gun that is comfortable in your hands first, then choose what caliber you want, a 9mm and a 40 do not have that big of a difference in felt recoil. The 9mm is easy to find and cheaper than the 40.

Says it all right there.:thumbup3:

I carry a .40, but I learned to shoot with a .45, so I downgraded on recoil. 9mm is going to be a few bucks cheaper to shoot (per box of 50 rounds).

But gun comfort is very important. And loaded with a quality defense load 9m is very much adequate.

99TROUBLE

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score