carry at work?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

climbtothebeet

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
i am curently waiting on my ccw permit, and have been thinking about where i work. I work at a mall for a company that does not permit firearm carry, (they even say in your car, old training videos). When i close, (every day i work) there are always many strange people standing outside and near my car/bike. If i were to carry and keep my jframe hidden in my pocket, what punishments could i get other than the possability of getting fired? This is a temporary job for 6 more months until i graduate. I would ask permission, but if the answer is no, i don't wan't them to know or be suspictious.

Bierhunter

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm not a lawyer (standard disclaimer).

My understanding is that it's company policy, not law. The most they could do is fire you.

Of course, the "even in the car" thing is not legal; but as you mentioned, it's an old policy that needs updated.

Talacker

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Read the story of the theater manager on this forum and decide. Pretty easy decision. It's much harder, of course, when it's your career and you've got a pretty sweeet job, and losing it would be rather devestating to those who depend on you.

yeller

Marksman
Reaction score
My theory is its conceled, don't discuss it with anyone, no coworkers, or friends. Someones well intended policy, protecting them not you from litigation, isn't worth my life.

IMHO, Companies today are more concerned about liabilities and litigation more than they are about their associates safety, I don't care how they word it or try to sell it and make it sound like a good idea. Its proven everyday that BG's only read good enough to know a green light when they see a gun free zone.

Soulman

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score