Coyote/Coon trapping

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bratley

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
I am wanting to trap coyotes on my farm. My question is: if I trap a raccoon or opossum after Feb. 28, do I have to release it? Also, if my target animal is a coyote do I have to purchase a fur license as well? I do have a hunting license and trapping license. I am not interested in furs only reducing the predator population on my land. Thanks

Bratley

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
Yes sir, Duke #2 CS. I am totally new to trapping and with my schedule I really don't have time to truly hunt them. This way I can manage a small trap line after dark if need be. My neighbor to the north raises goats and estimates there are around 40 coyotes running through my property to his.

dennishoddy

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
This is my first year to get serious with steel. 7 cats so far with only two possums in the traps.

Watched a video of John Graham's Bobcat trapping Vol 2. Using his method of tuning the traps, etc, its been pretty successful.

Never attempted to trap coyotes. I know a guy that does, and he said that coyotes are probably the hardest to trap, as their sense of smell is so great. Everything has to be handled with rubber gloves, rubber boots, etc.

I'm using #4's on cats, so I'm thinking the #2's are a little on the small side, but should work.
Unless somebody shows up with some first hand advice it might be worth scouting youtube, or going out and buying a video from somebody that targets coyotes.

Okie4570

Sharpshooter
Staff Member
Special Hen Moderator Moderator
Reaction score