Son thinking about Marines...

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tranger2

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Son has been talking about joining the military since he was young. He went to the oilfield for less than a year when his job fizzled. He is now planning to go to college this fall. His buddy (new Marine recruit) recently came home and now he's talking to a recruiter.

He is a smart kid, made a great score on the asfab? I don't have any close family who served. Am looking for real, truthful pros and cons from anyone who has recently served. You can pm me also. Thanks...

HoLeChit

Here for Frens
Special Hen
Reaction score
I just recently got out, circa 2012. Spent 4 years, most of the time I was a generator mechanic. Was stationed in California. One combat deployment to BFE somewhere in Helmand province, afghan in 2010. At times it was the worst time of my life, but I wouldn't trade even those terrible times for the world. Even if it is just 4 years, it is an experience that you cannot get anywhere else. Ever. I miss it every day. Why did I get out? Because we were downgrading to peacetime Marine Corps. We're already the abused violent stepchild of the armed forces, we don't get crap for funding unless you do "special" stuff, and get hand me down weapons for the most part. Peacetime Marine corps is a crapshoot. Promotions are non existent, we don't even get enough funding to go to the range other than our once or twice a year.
You don't get to deploy. The Marine corps lives to fight, and in peacetime we don't get that. Sitting around for the first 4 years of your career doing nothing sucks, it's not what anyone joins for. I don't want to cast a bad light on it, I feel it is the finest group of clean cut, dirty mouthed, violent bunch of professionals anyone could ask to be a part of.