1. Welcome to Oklahoma Shooters Association! Join today, registration is easy!

    You can register using your Google, Facebook, or Twitter account, just click here.

A question for legal experts/landlords.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nemesis, Aug 1, 2019.

  1. Tin Star Firearms

    Tin Star Firearms Sharpshooter

    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Location:
    Yale
    Rating
    100%
    If a person is not on the lease, the landlord can evict them immediately without paperwork.
    Oklahoma Statutes Citationized
    [​IMG]Title 41. Landlord and Tenant
    [​IMG]Residential Landlord and Tenant Act
    [​IMG]Section 111 - Termination of Tenancy


    F. The provisions of this section shall not apply to an occupant who has no rental agreement with the landlord and with whom the landlord has not consented to creating a tenancy. A landlord shall have the right to demand that such an occupant vacate the dwelling unit or the premises or both and shall not be required to commence eviction proceedings. If the occupant wrongfully fails to comply within a reasonable time, the occupant shall, upon conviction, be guilty of a trespass and may be punished by a fine not to exceed Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00).
     
    SoonerP226 and Cowcatcher like this.
  2. CODE_3

    CODE_3 Sharpshooter

    Messages:
    1,817
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Location:
    Yukon, Oklahoma, United States
    Rating
    100%
    Just start the eviction process. I can walk you through it if you have any questions.
     
  3. HeyEng

    HeyEng Marksman

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Location:
    OK
    I love internet lawyers. ;)
     
  4. AKguy1985

    AKguy1985 Sharpshooter

    Messages:
    20,554
    Likes Received:
    371
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Location:
    Rogers County
    As far as I know you need to go to the courthouse and get an eviction notice, then they have 30 days to vacate. I almost had to do this to my psycho ex that wouldn't leave a few years ago.
     
  5. hipshot

    hipshot Sharpshooter

    Messages:
    2,977
    Likes Received:
    62
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    tulsa
    Rating
    100%
    As soon as they are out get the locks rekeyed ! Have him call me and I can do it.
     
  6. CODE_3

    CODE_3 Sharpshooter

    Messages:
    1,817
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Location:
    Yukon, Oklahoma, United States
    Rating
    100%
    30 days is not correct.
     
  7. nemesis

    nemesis Sharpshooter

    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    56
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Location:
    tulsa
    Update. Yeah. That seems to sort of be the case. The owner has to go to the courthouse to fill out the paperwork and pay a fee. He/she gets a court date. They then have to go back with the squatter/trespasser to the court appearance where the judge hears both sides. The judge decides if, and when, the squatter/tenant/trespasser has to go. It could be 30 days or 30 minutes. It depends upon the judge.

    This is what the courthouse people and the sheriff said.
     
    Okiedog likes this.

Share This Page