Fall Turkey Tactics

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beer

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
The Turkey Hunting thread got me thinking. I'm new to turkey hunting so I've been researching a lot. All my buddies act like it's all but impossible to hunt them in the Fall and wont even attempt it. They tell me I'm wasting my time if its not spring. I noticed that most of the guys posting in the other thread all mentioned spring hunts as well.

Is it a Fall turkey hunt a lost cause here in Oklahoma?

What say you guys? What tactics, set ups, or tips do you employ or have for a successful Fall turkey hunt?

dennishoddy

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I've actually taken a couple of turkey in the fall. Most with a bow at early archery season.

It is more difficult, as they will be in big flocks, and there are a zillion eyes looking around.
Pop-up blinds can be a great tactic.
On the ladder stands, it always seems that one of the toms will spot you, and just stand there and stare. The rest of the flock will move off, and he will finally turn around and leave. Thats when any shot opportunity will happen.
Last year, I was fortunate to take a bearded hen in the fall with the Xbow. Its easier as one does not have to draw, so there is less movment, but I still had to swing the bow around 80 degrees or so for the shot.
My wifes uncle is a master at calling them with a whistle. Its the call they use when the flock is scattered in the fall to find each other. Might visit the NWTF web site. They have a section in there where one can click on a link, and it will reproduce turkey calls, and gives a little tutorial about the right time to use each call.

r00s7a

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score