Glock Sub Compacts

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tharper

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Pretty simple question, but can anyone tell me if racking the slide on a G26 is harder or easier than say a sub compact XD? Reason I ask, I'm wanting to get my wife something in a sub compact and she struggles to rack the slide on my compact XD, so I started leaning away from a SC XD, but I have no personal experience with a Glock. Would like to get her something sub compact in a 9mm for her to carry. Any input is good, thanks a ton! :clap3:

flatwins

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Most of the smaller autos will have a pretty stiff spring. You might want to take her over to Sports World where they carry lots of different models and try 'em out.

ProBusiness

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
i have both a XD SC and a glock 27 and have not noticed any difference.

I teach a woman's beginning handgun class and can tell you that a lot of women struggle with racking the slide. It is pretty simple - if a woman is strong enough than she can do it.

What I mean is that they have to already possess the strength. Three woman I have taught ride horses - they had good strength in their hands and did not have trouble racking the slides.

I had a 20 y/o woman in the class the other day and she could not rack a single gun - regardless of caliber or size. She could not even rack a .22 caliber semi.

I think you have to ask yourself - does the woman want to shoot a semi, and if so, will she work to learn how to operate it and build her strength. But a bigger question is will she keep her strength up just so she can manage a semi? I would hate for a women to depend on a semi for self defense and then not be able to work it.

Wall

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score