Non retired Vet question

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maverick7340

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I was wanting an ID card to prove I'm a Vet so I don't have to carry around my discharge paperwork. Too much personal info on it that I want people to see.

I asked the VA but they said I make too much money to get a VA card.

I'm not looking for medical help. I know the state gives Vets free admission to state owned parks and museums.

I sometimes wear a hat that says, "Gulf War Veteran" and when people see it they say they gives Vets a discount.

Is there any Government agency that you can get a Vet ID from?

Fyrtwuck

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I know it's not a "recognized official" I.D., but I keep a set of my dog tags on my key ring. Other than that and your word, I don't think there is any.

SMS

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Never heard of one other than the retiree card and the tax exempt cards they give to certain higher disability ratings...

HMFIC

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Maybe keep a phone pic or get a mini laminated version of your DD214 to have with you?

BTW, For those Vets who don't know or have let it slide, make sure you keep your original DD214 in a safe place and also consider filing a copy of it with the courthouse. That way you have an official, legal copy if you did ever lose it.

Hump66

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Only problem with filing it with the courthouse is all your personal information becomes public record. I've never heard the "make too much money" for a VA card issue, sucks because this is what I was planning on doing.

HMFIC

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score