Ok guys I have a question about purchasing a handgun..

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

macdaddypro

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
So can someone please help me out?
What are the laws/rules for purchasing a handgun from another individual?
Do you have to register it or what..

I know this might seem like a dumb question but i'm new to all of this and i have definitely been bitten by "the gun bug" Therefore I gotta know how to get some guns!

Thanks

Bootleggn

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Just make sure in fact you are legal to buy the firearm. Always do a bill of sale, I've learned lately how useful it may end up being to have one. Also, if time is alotted, make sure the pistol/firearm isn't "hot"

CAR-AR-M16

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Just make sure in fact you are legal to buy the firearm. Always do a bill of sale, I've learned lately how useful it may end up being to have one. Also, if time is alotted, make sure the pistol/firearm isn't "hot"

And just how would one go about making sure the firearm is not "hot". It's not like you can call it in to NCIC to run a trace nor can you call the police/sheriff to have them run the serial #.

gillman7

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Hand them money, they hand you the gun. Some people do a bill of sale, but it isn't necessary.

This^ A lot of people, myself included, will not do a bill of sale for an individual sale. It is not required, and in my opinion just gives the anti-gunners another thing to try and reason for more regulation. They claim that even among gun owners, people should require a bill of sale. I have walked away from purchases and sales because people asking for them when we show up to do the transaction. If you don't feel good about it, walk away.:slap: