Plz school me on J frames

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BigRed82

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Yeah so I've always been an auto lovin guy. revolvers have never done it for me much, so when it comes to wheelies, I'm a total novice.

Recently, the idea for a pocket carry option in a J frame package has caught my interest, but there are a ton of different models to choose from.

Between the 442, 642, and 340, what are the experiences and preferences of those that have pocket carried with them?
Thanks!

_CY_

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
S&W has a long history of producing compact revolvers or J frames.

my experience is limited to J frames with titanium cylinders and aluminum frames... 337PD & 340PD with Crimson Trace & Hogue bantum style grips.

337PD has a normal hammer with single and double action trigger....chambered for .38 & +P.

340PD has an internal hammer, shoots in double action only... chambered for .357

the 340PD has heavier construction to withstand .357's aprox. 2x increase in ft lbs energy delivered. 340PD weights only .5oz heavier than 337PD once you remove the grips.

340PD's top strap is twice as thick and titanium cylinder is longer to accommodate .357's longer case.

337PD is a more versatile pistol with double action and single action.
it's limited to .38 & +P, but most folks, especially women will not be able to handle firing an ultra lightweight pistol in .357.

but for those with stronger hands ... firing a .357 in an airweight pistol provided you get rid of the stock Hogue bantum grips.. is very manageable.

Crimson Trace grips with 340PD .357 125gn Fiocchi rated at 1450 fps.... felt recoil is still fierce, but manageable. I can easily fire off a five shot set of .357's and maintain acceptable accuracy for self defense.