Reloading manual for complete beginner?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stingray

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I've never reloaded at all, but really want to get into it. Everyone says to get a manual and read it first so that's what I intend to do. Problem is that there are just so many out there and I don't want to have to spend $200 on books before I find one geared toward my skill level. I plan to start with rifle ammo, .32 Winchester Special to be specific, but if it turns out that I enjoy it, I'll almost certainly start reloading .38 special as well.

any recommendations would be appreciated.

-S

angsniper

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
Okay. If you know what brand bullets you think you will use most, buy their manual. ie: seirra bullets = seirra manual. Once you start reloading more I would get more books. I compare data from 3 or 4 books if I'm starting a load from scratch.

ETA: you can pick up free reloading manuals from the powder companies at the stores where you buy reloading stuff.

Rod Snell

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
NRA has a good generic manual they use in their reloading class. Anyone can buy it from the NRA online bookstore. A beginner needs to learn the basic principles to stay out of trouble.

Then I like to have a manual from the bullet manufacturer and another manual from the powder manufacturer. After a few decades you'll have a shelf ful of them, too.

338Shooter

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I like my Hornady book, but you'll probably not read anything but the load data after the first few times. You can find all of the info and more online that is in the front of the book. You'll need a book and bass pro sells a lot of Hornady bullets so I'd get that one.

NikatKimber

Sharpshooter
Staff Member
Special Hen Moderator
Reaction score