Smoking the Thanksgiving Turkey

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dancer4life

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I have decided to try smoking a turkey this year for our Thanksgiving dinner and looking for advice.

I have a Masterbuilt electric smoker. It works great for port, ribs, chicken so I thought why not a Turkey.

Anyone smoke their turkey?

What's the best wood to use?

Any favorite recipes.

Any and all suggestions is appreciated.

tRidiot

Perpetually dissatisfied
Special Hen
Reaction score
I did it. Very VERY good.

Actually best if you spatchcock it, it'll cook more evenly. If you can let the skin dry out for a day or two in the fridge, you're better off, it'll get crispier. Rub it down with a little oil or butter. I did mine on a bed of herbs which was nice. Inject with a brine, put a temp probe in the breast and the thighs.

Yummy yummy. I like it better than the deep fried birds.

<edit> And I use a pellet smoker, I think I used apple pellets, but honestly I think hickory would be good, I just wouldn't use mesquite on bird.

CHenry

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I did it. Very VERY good.

Actually best if you spatchcock it, it'll cook more evenly. If you can let the skin dry out for a day or two in the fridge, you're better off, it'll get crispier. Rub it down with a little oil or butter. I did mine on a bed of herbs which was nice. Inject with a brine, put a temp probe in the breast and the thighs.

Yummy yummy. I like it better than the deep fried birds.

<edit> And I use a pellet smoker, I think I used apple pellets, but honestly I think hickory would be good, I just wouldn't use mesquite on bird.
She said SMOKE.
Reading comprehension is key.

Shadowrider

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score