Berger vld's

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

257wby

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Anyone have experience with these? I've heard that seating depth is the key for accuracy. I was told to "paint" a bullet, re-size the case down enough to hold the bullet and chamber it. this will ensure the bullet is just touching the lands. Anyone tried this? BTW this is for my wby. I'm not an expert, but I do have 6-7 years reloading experience.

abinok

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
In my experence, the key to loading VLDs... especially bergers is to seat the bullet with light enough neck tension (approx .001" differance from sized fresh from the die od to seated bullet od) that the bullet is allowed to be seated gently into the rifling, and pressed back into the case as the bolt is cammed closed. I generally seat the bullet .015 to .020 long to allow the bullet to be pushed back... but ive seen some rifles want .100.....

Keep in mind that you will probably need a new bullet seater to keep from using the nose of the bullet as the bearing point of the seating die, and if you don't have a comparitor (the old stonypoint, aka hornady) you will need one to accurately measure the seating depths from the ogive.

I load 180gr 7mm VLDs in a 7mm wildcat driving said bullet at 3200fps. I also load 95gr 6mm bergers in 243AI.
This technique works well for both.

The process of manipulating neck tension seperate from sizing is not especially challenging... but it may require seperate tools than those you are currently using. The level of precision you need, and the ranges over which you intend to hurdle these needles will determine if the investment is worthwhile.

GUN DOG

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score