Wanting to start reloading...

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

redneck1861

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Hey guys, I need some help. I am wanting to start doing my own reloading, but I have never done it before and have no idea where to start. I mainly shoot .40S&W and .223. so I want a set-up that can load both. I shoot around 300-500 rounds a month, and would like to only shoot my reloads.

So my question for yall is, What kind of set-up do yall reccomend, what all do I need equipment wise? and do yall reccomend casting your own bullets?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks guys

adluginb

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
While a progressive press would be nice, with that little amount shot, a single stage would work fine. Check eBay you can get em cheap.

Google Rock Chucker press.

Uncivil

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I load j&k for my .40 xd on a single stage. I use a hornady lock and load classic and love it. There is so much going on that focusing on a single step at a time before i get many more rounds under my belt im not even interested in a progressive. I have loaded approx 3k rounds in the last year on it.

doctruptwn

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Get a Lee turret press you can use it as a single stage then move up to the auto index once you got the process down. Your dies stay set up in the turret and you change the turrets when you change caliber. You can get the starter kit, and all the supplies your need for under $200 and be ready to go, then change out to better scales and stuff as time goes on. In single stage you maybe can get 50 or so an hour, In Index mode they say 200/hour but realistically more like 150 or so an hour.

I don't know about casting but with suppliers like JK Bullet and Missouri Bullet company it's hard to spend the time casting your own.

redneck1861

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score