A question for the computer savvy

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nemesis

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
I went to reddog's website and at the bottom of the page it gave my IP address.

Is that address unique to my computer, or will every computer in my network have the same IP address?

Skiluvr03

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think if you are on a cable modem, the little program on the bottom of the page will show the IP of the Cable Company IP. It's been a long time since I was an Administrator at a site, but that's what I seem to remember when using IP tracers and such.

jim7711

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
If your computer is on a Local Area Network such as at work and some homes (with routers) then every computer on your same network will show that same address on any website. Your computer will have a unique ip address on your local network inside your house or office but the website cannot see that. The website will only see the ip address of the modem no matter which computer on the LAN is accessing the website.

If your computer is connected directly to a cable modem or DSL modem then that address is only for your computer.

rhodesbe

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Unless especially assigned as a 'static' IP address, the external IP assigned by an ISP is part of a 'pool' and is reassigned over time.

This is where DDNS services come in handy. Suppose you have a CCTV DVR or thermostat or something that you always want to have outside internet access to.
Instead of purchasing a static IP address from your carrier, you can buy a dynamic DNS service (some are free) that keeps track of your device no matter which IP it is assigned to.