Urban Poultry

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

inactive

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I've decided on getting 3-4 laying hens would be a good experiment for me and my son and daughter. So I spent the afternoon framing a chicken tractor in my backyard. It's a 4x8 a-frame. I need to build the nest box (incl. a door to snatch eggs), an entry door on one side under the next box, then screen the whole thing in. Here's the progress so far:

542011_10100809118836257_9628959_51904527_155257222_n.jpg

So anyone else here keep chickens, rurally or in an urban backyard? I'm new to all of this but figured "what the hell - why not?!" Any particular breeds you like? Any food recommendations or ways to water them? Any advice would be good. :)

I also live at 46th and Yale. My neighbors will love me I am sure :laugh6:

Okie4570

Sharpshooter
Staff Member
Special Hen Moderator Moderator
Reaction score
We've had good success with black sex-links from Atwoods, brown eggs of course and are consistant layers. Are you starting chicks or laying hens?

tyromeo55

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I didnt think you could have livestock in city limits? I also live at 46th and yale and as long as I dont have to hear or smell them I could care less. How old if your son?

Porter

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I didnt think you could have livestock in city limits? I also live at 46th and yale and as long as I dont have to hear or smell them I could care less. How old if your son?

As long as you keep them within 50 feet of a neighbors fence, you are allowed to keep up to 6 adult chickens within the city limits.

inactive

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
As long as you keep them within 50 feet of a neighbors fence, you are allowed to keep up to 6 adult chickens within the city limits.

Yup. Here's the city code verbatim:

Code: