Advice on a 1911 purchase, newbie overload.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VitruvianDoc

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Alright, I am a medical student with school poring out my ears and it seems just the time to open pandoras box and venture into the 1911 world.

I've read almost every thread here about brands and options, read alot of threads on glocktalk 1911 section, and a few other sides and now have hit a waterfall of information overload, so please help!

I am looking for a 1911 that doesn't need a lot of work and general maintenance, that can serve nightstand duty with the occasionally CCW.
Budget: Out the door + tax totalled ~$950

First: Colt XSE O1980/O1070 - Blued/SS 5" Gov't 1911
I honestly like the idea of Colts and the nastalgia of their history plus I shot my father-in-law's a few months ago and liked it. I like the blued, but have no idea how tough it actually is so I would be interested in the stainless steel too.
Everyone local seems to be out and not expecting any for a while, but I've seen some decent deals with high rated people on Gunbroker.

Second: Smith & Wesson ????
These I have heard great things about and are 2nd on my list, but all the options are overwhelming and I have no clue where to start.
Looked local and can't seem to find many.

Third: Springfield Armory Range Officer
Looks good, but I like the parkerized or blued look and this isnt offered in that. I also am wary of SA after watching a friend go to hell and back over a manufacturer defected gun.
Looked local and found a few at outrageous prices.

I realize alot comes down to opinion, but any help will be awesome!

J. Holly

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I am getting into the 1911 world myself. I have stayed toward the polymer stuff for daily carry, but now, I find myself going towards the .45 cartridge again.