Got a promotion and lost friends at the same time...

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cooljeff

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
As some of you may know, I'm an elementary special education teacher in Moore Public Schools. This last year has been amazing and I give God all the glory. I was awarded Teacher Of the Year, also nominated for South OKC Chamber of Commerce Teacher Of the Year award. Since the school year ended I've had 4 different principals call me to offer me jobs. My new principal called me a couple weeks ago and offered me the Special Education Department Head position. I jumped at the chance to enrich others and help my students and other teachers. Unfortunately, I'm beginning to see the difficult part of this job now. I'm having to start already making very hard choices about who stays in the department (Paraprofessional, Teacher Assistant, etc) and also who is assigned which grade levels and which students in their caseloads. This has already started to have blowback as you can imagine. Friends I've had for 5-6 years are wanting favoritism, or to be assigned to something they want and not necessarily what's best for the school and the students. Some are not being so nice about it. It's difficult to tell someone that you are thier friend, but the decisions made are going by lots of thought and input from other professionals in the field to decide the best pairing of TA or Para and students and assigning difficult students to someone is never easy. I guess I hoped that people would just understand and do what's best and not what's easiest. I've always had tough students and high number caseloads, but I always knew that was part of the job. I guess I needed to vent....

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Last edited:

D. Hargrove

Sharpshooter
Reaction score